3 comments on “Skinny Jeans

  1. Eileen, a good nutritionist will absolutely NOT instruct you to #1, #2, #3, and #4. She probably will instruct you to do #5. Find something you enjoy…like walking the dogs. The first four a good nutritionist will instruction you how to make healthy choices and won’t tell you that you must eat things you don’t care for. As for #4 she’ll help you continue to cook your favorite foods, but give suggestions how to make them more nutritious.

    You can do. Failing would only be if you didn’t try at all.

  2. I certainly can empathize with you, Eileen. Number 6 scares me too. As for number 1, I won’t even go there!

    I’ve been going around and around in my mind…join WW again; join T.O.P.S.??? Try it on my own again??

    I don’t even like counting points so why do that? I don’t want to have to go to a meeting to lose weight, but I can’t seem to stay on a diet more than a few weeks going it alone.

    I am 59 years old, and have dieted on and off for 40 years now. I remember going on a grapefruit diet with my aunt to lose 5 or 10 pounds when I was 19!!

    I would like to learn to accept myself as I am…but I can’t. For one thing, if I totally give up, I’ll gain back the 30 pounds I have managed to keep off for almost 7 years. Why I can’t lose the rest of my excess weight is beyond me…except I love to eat, and I do love DESSERTS!

    Do you find yourself obsessing about dieting whether you are on one or not? I might as well be on one, because it’s always there; the realization that I need to be eating healthy.

    It sounds like a good idea, going to a nutritionist, if she will work with you on incorporating what you like to eat in your food plan. I cannot diet if I have to eat food that doesn’t taste good to me.

    I know we consider ourselves failures at dieting, but if you think about it, we’re really not, because we haven’t completely thrown in the towel. Right? I shudder to think what I could weigh if I just completely gave up; threw out my cooking spray, bought a big can of Crisco, and said, “To heck with it!”

    (Hey, better splurge all you can between now and August 2! Just kidding, well kind of.)

    Gail

    • Oh Gail, I love you! I was just telling someone today that I’d better get the splurging in now, because August 2nd is right around the corner!

      You hit on so many good points. I do think about dieting even when I’m not. I’m working on the acceptance, tempered with making myself healthier.

      I don’t want to be a size 6 anymore. I just want to lose 50 pounds. Once I get there I’ll see if I want to go any further with it.

      Thanks for your support. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

